Stateless SElinux and writable rootfs

Hello everybody,

I am new to CL coming from Fedora Silverblue.
I am doing a comparison of the two in terms of security.
The only real two differences I can spot is that

• Fedora has enabled SElinux by default
  • Fedora’s rootfs is mounted read-only by default
    Thoughit seems to me that SElinux makes not that much sense with stateless systems,
    the thing is that still /usr is writable and the first place if I were to write some malware would be /usr/share/defaults that loads something else, having read only rootfs would prevent this, although to have enough permissions to write into /usr would mean that you could just as well remount /usr as read write anyways, what does CL team thinks on further securing the system, is there such need? Would volatiling the system help?

You can read some more details about the security techniques here: https://docs.01.org/clearlinux/latest/guides/clear/security.html A lot of it is the philosophy which comes through in the details.

While Clear Linux does not enable SElinux, it’s important to note that SElinux can do a lot more than just filesystem permissions. It can allow for very granular security policies and contexts. Unfortunately, it often isn’t configured properly and gets in the way more often than not. And too many tutorials online start by saying “disable SElinux” :man_facepalming:

A while ago I spend some hours to understand a bit about SElinux.

What I am trying to say with this post is clear linux should add to the wiki
the reasoning how stateless obsoletes selinux/apparmor:

• while selinux is great and except for creating a custom Fedora live cd (even not for creating ostree’s or rpm building) selinux did never cause problems and was always enabled.

• Selinux adds a lot of theoretical security (and slight attack vector),
    preventing infected process A to mess with uninfected processes B:C:D and data prevented