Clear Linux + KVM + OpenVswitch

Hi All,
Note: I’m new to Clear Linux - just downloaded yesterday :slight_smile:

Traditionally I ran Debian 11 + KVM + Openvswitch but found that on a Intel NUC it randomly crashes … spent hours trying to troubleshoot without success. I then stumbled on a few sites suggesting an Intel optimised Linux - so here I am.

I have installed the OS and the packages.

sudo swupd bundle-add kernel-kvm kvm-host 

Install OpenvSwitch.

sudo swupd bundle-add openvswitch

and some default networking

sudo swupd bundle-add network-basic

The KVM part seems to be working. I just can’t seem to get openvswitch configured as I would have in Debian.

My setup is relatively simple. I use DHCP to obtain an address but can use static. I just can’t find any documentation to help. I found this command to start ovs

sudo /usr/share/openvswitch/scripts/ovs-ctl --start

But after every reboot it decided to stop … obviouly I need to load it as a service?

I also configure my nework by running

sudo ovs-vsctl add-br br0
sudo ovs-vsctl add-port eno1 br0
sudo ip link set br0 up

I don’t know how to restart the network or rerun dhcp … things seem to be missing coming from Debian? Looks like I am running systemd-network, but don’t see the service or associated files?
This is brand new install and updated to 38990.

Looking for some help or documentation that may get me up and running.

Regards

1 Like

I’ve had a little progress with the OpenvSwitch. Debian did this for me, so it was a matter of searching.

sudo systemctl start openvswitch.service
sudo systemctl enable openvswitch.service
sudo systemctl status openvswitch.service

Now I just need to workout the networking part. I did find the folder /usr/lib/systemd/network. So guessing in here I would create me config file. In Debian it looked like.

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# Required "auto ovs-br0" since Debian 11.5
auto ovs-br0
allow-ovs ovs-br0
iface ovs-br0 inet dhcp