How to install Autodesk Maya 2019 in CL?

Hello! I am a new to Linux and chose CL as my main distro as it is clean and very fast.

I work as a 3D Generalist and I would like to have first installed the Autodesk Maya 2019.

I have followed Autodesk’s guidelines as to how to install Maya 2019 on a Linux OS, but unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be working.

Autodesk Linux OS guidelines below:

- Firstly, following their instructions for the installation via the Installation Wizard results into this error:

./setup: error while loading shared libraries: libpng12.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Autodesk apparently took notice of this issue and wrote a solution in the following article below:

Autodesk’s solution: yum install libpng12 doesn’t work as the Terminal returns with the following error:

`CRITICAL:yum.cli:Config Error: Error accessing file for config file:///etc/yum/yum.co`

- Secondly, following the instructions for the installation via their RPM Utility returns with this error:

error: Failed dependencies
         /bin/sh is needed by Maya2019_64-2019.0-7966.x86_64
         /bin/sh is needed by Bifrost2019_64-2019.1.5.7.0-1.5.7.0.x86_64
         /bin/sh is needed by adlmapps14-14.0.23-0.x86_64
         /bin/sh is needed by adlmflexnetclient-14.0.23-0.x86_64

Could there be a solution to this problem? I am very much excited to get to test my rendering workloads in CL.

Many thanks!

Hi, welcome!

CL has a newer version of libpng16 available in the devpkg-libpng bundle. I’m not sure if the Maya installer can work with that.

If not, the older version, libpng12 is not available outside of the games bundle but it is packaged in a RPM. You could manually download and extract that package with something like:

wget https://download.clearlinux.org/current/x86_64/os/Packages/compat-libpng-soname12-lib-1.2.59-20.x86_64.rpm

rpm2cpio compat-libpng-soname12-lib-1.2.59-20.x86_64.rpm | sudo cpio -ivdm --directory=/