Simple questions about server use case, ZFS, Qemu, iptables

Hi,

I am very new with the CL but the first impression was promising of the philosophy and design. I have read tutorial about a ZFS, a CL documentation and some community threads about CL in a general. Some questions still pop-up.

I am trying to so choose a general server distribution for the ZFS disk-management ( OpenZFS 2.0 ) and the qemu hypervisor for relay on zfs-pools. That is about all I need. The root on a normal mdadm and the iptables of course.

1. Is that the CL is stable enough? I have read about some boot issues after updates and this is not acceptable in a server use. Is manual updating really the best option to keep system updating with a delay and waiting for that bugs will be solved from the “first wave of updates”? Is there option to come a one update behind? Or just the custom service to update rarely enough?

2. How often a LTS kernel will be updated? Is that following the mainline LTS system? If I understood a mixer right. It is possible to compile and package to the bundle the ZFS in the way that relays on the specific kernel version and if a newer kernel comes that bundle prevent whole system to update? For example ZFS 2.0 officially support 5.9 and the next LTS will be soon 5.10 so that is the problem from the first day if there is no a known schedule.

3. Will it be a problem if a system is unbooted for long period of time. That there is too long cap between the running and the updated kernel and other parts of the system? Will services still be updated without booting?

Tell me right away if I am trying to seek my goals from a completely wrong place :slight_smile:

1. CL is on rolling release. In general a distro can not say it both has latest packages and great stability. So I don’t think CL is “stable” in the sense of Debian’s stability.
  2. Kernels are updated once it’s released, usually. So you can refer to the update schedule of LTS kernels.