What should I expect from CL Desktop

First, I want to thank intel for this wonderful distro. It is even faster than Windows on my laptop. I am a student. & For my current uses, I can get almost every apps I need on CL, either from swupd, flatpak or rpms. But how long this going to work. Is it as reliable ubuntu/fedora as a desktop os.

I know that it is not a general purpose userfriendly os like ubuntu.
What I want to know is,
What should I expect from CL? Is its desktop support going to improve in few years (like fedora).
Or Intel is just ignoring desktop use, focusing mainly on servers.

Like AUR for Arch, PPA for ubuntu, CL have 3rd-party bundle support, but it is of no use because of unavailability of apps.

I found few issues, which were reported long ago, but still not solved (chrome-gnome-shell not working, hp toolbox not starthing,etc)

Again I am asking, Is it a reliable desktop os?

You questions well-summarised a few points that annoys some users.

As declared early this year, the current direction of CL team is to focus (more) on non-desktop usage.

The 3rd-party repo is one potential way for dealing with some issues, especially for lack of non-free softwares.

Another possibility is to have a community-driven fork of CL.

But both of these two require more engagement from community members. It took a few years until some key contributers bring 3rd-party repository to Arch. And we’re still waiting for that to happen.

3 Likes

CL is a great distro for server workloads and mainstream cloud applications. Also bundles make it easy to get some basic things up and running on server or desktop without dependency version conflicts. It is a fine and powerful development/controller desktop for experienced devs sysadmins and power users or superuser hobbyists.

Things I would not recommend it for (currently):