Making CLR work for more workflows

I’m a long time GNU/Linux user (started in 1994). I work as an academic and my main activities are: researching, teaching and programming. I have been using Clear Linux for more than one year now. I like it a lot because of its:

• High performance w.r.t. other distros
  • Silent rolling-release upgrades
  • Stability

It just works ™ and it works fast!

But I often wonder whether I’m gonna have to leave for another distro. Why? Because, every week or so, I need to do some stuff that’s hard to achieve with it. To do videoconferencing with Jitsi, I need Chromium; to produce videos for students or play some made by fellow colleagues, I need all sorts of codecs; to code, I need Codium… Alas, there is currently no systematic, easily-achievable solution. I end up wasting a lot of time trying to circumvent these issues by:

• Relying on Appimages
  • Relying on Flatpaks
  • Adding some RPMs (as explained on some posts of this very board)
  • Relying on the only 3rd-party repo I know about
  • Creating Docker images
  • Compiling stuff myself

Phew that’s a lot! And it doesn’t even work all the time! Furthermore, some of these things can be broken when updating CLR.

I gather that Intel doesn’t want to offer repos for this, which I can understand, somehow (somehow, because even Debian has nonfree). And I don’t blame the excellent Clear Linux team, who I thank for the nice work.