Clear Linux OS now supports offline installs

One of the most frequent requests we’ve seen on the Clear Linux OS Forums has been to enable offline installs.

We’re very pleased to announce that as of build 31230, the Clear Linux OS Desktop and Clear Linux OS Server ISO images now support offline installs!

I caught up with John Akre (@jwakre), who was the Clear Linux OS engineer responsible for making this happen.

Chris: Hi John. Before we talk about how you made this happen, can you talk a bit about your background?

John: I’ve been an engineer here at Intel for about 3 years. I’ve been on Clear Linux for about a year and a half. I’ve worked on swupd, mixer and clr-installer.

Chris: I know making the installer capable of running offline wasn’t high on the priority list for a long time, but I understand that you managed to pull this feature in in addition to your other tasks. Why did you focus on this feature?

John: It’s always just been a constant ask, there’s a lot of desire for it, and it just seemed like it should be a higher priority than what else was sitting around.

Chris: How hard was it to make this happen?

John: Initially I thought it would be a lot easier than it was, but to make it efficient with disk space and actually faster than a network install took a while. I had to learn a little bit and also take advantage of some other features, but it wasn’t too bad.

Chris: Could you give some more info about how you got it working?