Installing vim in order to enable python and python3

Hello everyone,

Before I’m going to the main subject, I apologize in advance if my english is not perfect, since I’m from the baguette land I will happily give you a croissant.

I have seen a week ago that the vim bundle wasn’t compiled with +clipboard and since I’m currently a student (beginner to the marvelous linux world) which use vim almost everyday it was somewhat uncomfortable. So I wanted to build vim from source, which I did. After that I’ve installed YouCompleteMe a vim plugin which is a code completion plugin.

Error

The problem is when I launch vim in the terminal, I’ve got this error:
Capture d’écran de 2020-04-20 22-19-38

I’m not sure if this error is throw because python/dyn and python3/dyn.

What I’ve done

sudo swupd bundle-add deprecated-python2
sudo swupd bundle-add python3-basic

I’ve also did this ./configuration for vim:

sudo ./configure --with-features=huge \
                            --enable-pythoninterp=yes \
                            --with-python-config-dir=/usr/lib/python2.7/config \
                            --enable-python3interp=yes \
                            --with-python3-config-dir=/usr/lib/python3.8/config-3.8-x86_64-linux-gnu

and make && make install naturally.

I’ve also check vim with vim --version | grep python. This gave me the following result :

• +python/dyn
  • +python3/dyn
1 Like

You can open an new issue on GitHub to request the clipboard support.

Also, it seems like you didn’t install ycm properly.

1 Like

See:

Actually I did some research. If you installed neovim, the clipboard feature is enabled (by default).

And I found this post helpful.

For example you can have set clipboard+=unnamedplus, then you can yank text into clipboard by pressing "+y.

Alternatively if you have

" Copy to clipboard
vnoremap  <leader>y  "+y
nnoremap  <leader>Y  "+yg_
nnoremap  <leader>y  "+y

" Paste from clipboard
nnoremap <leader>p "+p
nnoremap <leader>P "+P