Notes on building a Clear SteamOS appliance

Hi everyone, I figured I’d start posting things I use clear for to encourage people to start posting. I’ve been messing around with this for a few months on and on, and created a video, but now I’ve rebuilt this a few times and have a better understanding of what I need to do and I’ve been getting feedback from random redditors so I figured I should start writing this down:

Ok so first things first, I’m using a Hades Canyon NUC for this, but have had success with prebuilt systems, and even all-AMD Ryzen/Vega systems. Generally speaking if it has open drivers this should work.

Install Clear Linux

We’re building some things so you might want to grab desktop-dev. If you’re on an older installation make sure you switch over to network-manager as you need this for Steam’s wireless manager to work when you’re in big picture mode.

Install Steam

I used to do this via the flatpak via flathub (in the video), but I was having problems with controller permissions, controlling shutdown/reboot via the client, not getting sound in the session and even occasional game(!) problems. So I just installed Steam via a tarball that Valve provides. This solved like 90% of the problems I was having in the video!

Before you need to run steam at least once so it downloads/updates itself, and then log in, perhaps play some games to make sure it’s working right.

Install the compositor

I set up steamcompmgr, when we run this in a dedicated session it will ensure games launch fullscreen and give us that slick console-like experience.

Grab the latest tarball from this directory, and you’re going to go in there and do the usual ./configure, make, make install. Depending on what you have installed you might need to install some devpkg’s from clear, I still need to make a list of what to install, but generally speaking if you have desktop-dev installed this should work.