Unit file opensm.service does not exist; provide opensm service files?

When I try systemctl enable opensm, I get:

Failed to enable unit: Unit file opensm.service does not exist.

There’s an open issue about opensm not providing these itself.

In the meantime, you could make a user-defined systemd unit under /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/.

1 Like

Okay. Seems I may have to do the same for rdma.service.
The issue I linked earlier has sample files (taken from Fedora), and I also see an rdma.service file from redhat, listed as part of rmda-core – but seemingly wasn’t included with the hpc-utils bundle?

I’m new to networking and doing more with systemd then systemctl start X, so I am sorry if some of these questions are fairly basic.

Upstream does not provide these files, and this is explained by the age of the project and the amount of development activity.

This is one of those problems that should have been solved upstream. If we add unit files, they’re most likely not going to be correct since it’s unlikely that anyone on our team uses RDMA/opensm.

YTEH - You’re The Expert Here. It would really help if you could investigate what the proper content of the unit files are, submit them upstream and Cc the clearlinux github issue tracker. Then we can make progress instead of blindly adding some untested and copied unit file from another distro.

Now, I’m far from an expert. I just happen to have bought a few cards to play with.

In the Clear Linux rdma-core package:

PKG_NAME := rdma-core
URL = https://github.com/linux-rdma/rdma-core/releases/download/v24.0/rdma-core-24.0.tar.gz
ARCHIVES = 

include ../common/Makefile.common

It looks like you’re using the latest release of rdma-core.
I realize now it is actually that library that contains the rdma.service file I linked to earlier.
It contains the necessary files for debian, redhat, and suse.