BOINC client not connecting

Hi! I installed BOINC (boinc-client | Clear Linux* Project). It installs fine but it is stuck to “Connecting to localhost”. It doesn’t allow me to attach to a project at all.

The output of boinccmd --read_cc_config and boinccmd --get_state is similar: “can’t connect to local host”.

Can anyone take a look and see what the problem is here? Thanks

@btwarden is this working for you?

I don’t actually use it; I just added it per request, so I have limited knowledge. From what I understand, /usr/bin/boinc is the background process to which boinccmd and other tools should connect. It can be launched by hand, or started automatically by BOINC Manager (boincmgr).

@carlshark How did you try to start it?

@juro.bystricky Would you be willing to try to help?

I am pretty sure followed these instructions:
https://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Installing_BOINC_on_Fedora
in particular “Set up your accounts”

After installation, it creates a shortcut to boincmgr.
Usually when you first start the BOINC Manager program it would be in Simple View, and when it is able to connect to localhost it would be asking you to attach a project.
My previous experience with BOINC on different Linux distros was fairly trivial. Once you download and install it, you are asked to attach a project and it will download tasks. I mainly use Debian-based distros though.
Prior to this, my experience on a different distro was that BOINC Manager was not talking to the BOINC client, which was confirmed by boinccmd --get_tasks. In this case the terminal would have meaningful output, such as asking to attach to a project which you can do manually.

Ah, I vaguely recall having reconfigured the desktop shortcut to use /var/lib/boinc as its starting dir, for which you’ll need to be a member of the boinc group:

sudo usermod -a -G ${USER} boinc
sudo usermod -a -G boinc ${USER}

then logout and back in to make it take effect.

1 Like