Can not get Intel HDA sound to work

Hello, I am brand new to clearlinux and using brand new intel hardware (intel i7 NUC 10th gen comet lake) and am having a difficult time getting my sound card to work.

I have VLC and ffmpeg “ffplay” both working playing music and video files (VLC doesn’t play videos that ffplay can play and ffplay has a slow stuttering effect when playing 4k hevc videos but 1440p 60fps play clear and perfectly)… no sound for either vlc or ffplay.

Also no sound at all for Firefox as well as problems with videos not playing on reddit, but everything works properly with Youtube playing 4k 60fps 2160p videos perfectly (with no sound but crystal clear picture).

And no sound for gnome->settings->sound speaker test, and I get a strange “pop” from the speakers when messing with the settings of pavucontrol… also when I play a file like the gnome speaker test the pavucontrol looks like it has sound playing but no actual sound is palyed.

I have been reading posts on this forum as well as trying different things from the Arch wiki and Gentoo wiki as well as some things from some Ubuntu wikis.

My soundcards are always shown when using commands like lspci and other commands.

Using the command ‘pacmd list-sink-inputs’ while playing VLC and ffplay I am able to see both applications sinked and recognized with name and bin, as well as 100% volume and not muted… but I can not get any sound.

When messing around with pavucontrol and alsamixer, as well as gnome sound I can get a “pop” from my speakers that are plugged into the headphone jack of my intelNUC10.

I tried to use hdajackretask and did not know what to do. Any settings that I tried to apply caused an error:
tee: /sys/class/sound/hwCOD2/reconfig:Device or resource busy

I tried adding an /etc/modprobe.d directory with these files in it:

/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf with:
blacklist snd_soc_skl

and a /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf with:
options snd-hda-intel model=headset-mic