Installation in VirtualBox/live image issues

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Clear Linux, but really interested in this project, but having issues installing the OS in virtualbox (just to try it out). I tried to follow your guides, installing from live img or launch a live img, but i’m having problems with the Gnome desktop.

Actually my host OS is Ubuntu 16.04, and running the latest version of VirtualBox (6.0.8), also launched your check script if i could install clear linux, and everything goes fine, except the EFI firmware, what’s missing. (but i don’t think it’s relevant to the virtual machine, maybe I’m wrong here?).

After setting up the root account and chaning the kernel to lts, and installing the guest additions everything goes fine, than i tried to install the desktop-autostart bundle, and was expecting to have the gnome interface after reboot. Instead of I’m getting only the terminal. I tried to launch startx which launches the gnome desktop, but it launches an older version, that’s not fully functional. Also with autostart it should be launched automatically?

Also tried to install the distro from the installer, but instead of finding the gnome desktop with the installer I’m getting the terminal.

I’m pretty sure that I did all the steps of the tutorials to install the distro, but without success.

What I’m doing wrong?

Thanks for your help,

Try running systemctl enable gdm.service and then rebooting.

Hey,

i tried it, but it does not work. Also gdm.service is up and running correctly.

For the last try i tried to install it from the Live img, changed kernel and installed Guest Additions.
After that step installed the desktop-autostart bundle, everything goes fine, but on reboot im getting a black screen, so with alt +f2 i log in as root. At this point i tried to do as you said, reboot but did not help, same result.

Any more ideas? Thanks!