Official Discord Server

Please create an official discord server. :slight_smile: It’s a way better alternative to forums, which I personally dislike. :smiley:

:roll_eyes:

Welcome!

Why do you dislike forums? Can you explain a little more? I’d love learning your point of view.

Thanks

1 Like

Note: for live text chat we have a very active IRC channel on freenode: #clearlinux

I don’t see a reason why people can’t create an unofficial discord server, but, we’re OSS developers and we don’t like non-OSS platforms, like discord. So while we have nothing against folks creating and discussing Clear Linux OS on any platform (open or closed), it’s unlikely that we will choose a closed source platform if open platforms exist that fill similar use cases.

5 Likes

Am I okay to post this link to my unofficial Clear Linux discord in here? I looked around but couldn’t find one so I made this even though I’m a CL noob myself

4 Likes

Yes, absolutely. Keep it linked here and perhaps make a separate forum post with it, too.

so I assume you’re convinced of the value of chatrooms as a use case different from forums (lower bar for pointing simple questions in the right direction, when one doesn’t even know what term to search, and doesn’t want to spam a forum with “what does this mean?” insert phone screenshot of boot error. among others.)

so I’ll stick to IRC vs. Discord. IRC is effectively defunct and dead (95% user loss) for good reasons. see the 8 features IRC is still missing listed here. on top of that I’ll add:

1. if you want your OS to be accessible to end users, make your chatroom accessible to end users
  2. lack of searchable history (help users find repeat answers)