Guide/Tutorial: Displaylink on ClearLinux 34620

Note: I am not an expert, I am not a guru, I am not a developer for Linux. I am just a tinkerer. I know my way around linux but I don’t really know it. Backup what you need to. Avoid doing this as your daily driver. I am not responsible for you wrecking your setup.

Hope this is the right place.

So I am currently digging the idea of ClearLinux. Optimised and secure for the intel platform. However, I am in need of DisplayLink for work as we Hot Desk. Yes, I said it, Hot Desk. In 2021, we are doing something atrocious.(We clean the tables once we’re done and when we go to use one).

I tried to install displaylink using what I could find on the internet, however, it didn’t work. libdrm missing, complaints about kernel headers missing (Pretty fair since I don’t think ClearLinux provides any form of it in the linux-dev bundle.). It was a disaster and I was heartbroken. Played around for half an hour and Yay! It works!

Now while I love ClearLinux, this goes against pretty much everything it stands for.

You’ll need the following bundles (Depending on your choice of kernel, use LTS or native):

• kernel-LTS/native-dkms
  • linux-LTS-dev or linux-dev
  • dnf

Connect DNF to upstream repository
Once they’ve been installed, follow the instructions here to connect DNF to the upstream repository:

https://docs.01.org/clearlinux/latest/guides/maintenance/query-upstream.html

That will allow you to install packages manually. (Removing the need for bundles, attack on ClearLinux #1)

Install libdrm-devel
Now using DNF install libdrm-devel. You may have some luck with the devpkg-libdrm bundle, but it didn’t work for me.

sudo dnf install libdrm-devel --releasevar=current

This will install a ton of packages, most I assume not required for ClearLinux’s usual operations.

Disable secure boot and module signature enforcement (ClearLinux crime #2)